Faith and Science Instead of Faith vs. Science

Science and religion need not be enemies in the exploration of the origin and meaning of life.  Each has its proper place in considering what Charles Darwin called the, “mystery of mysteries.” When properly understood, scientific research and Christian theological reflection contribute to a deeper understanding of these mysteries.

Many voices in the debate of human origins play science against the scriptures or the scriptures against science.  Why are many so fearful of a respectful conversation between the two?  Those who believe there is no God should not be so afraid of those who insist He exists that they seek to undermine religion as an enemy of science.  Hasn’t most scientific innovation and learning since the seventeenth century taken place in academies that were started as Christian institutions of higher learning?

Those who believe in Yahweh Elohim, the Creator God of the Bible, should not try to defend Him by denying the proper use of human reason and the pursuit of a better understanding of the natural realm through scientific study.  God has used science to heal diseases, tear down barriers and bring about a technological revolution that promises to unite humanity and usher in an age of equality and prosperity that earth hasn’t experienced.  Instead of preaching what’s wrong with science, shouldn’t we be teaching what’s right with faith and how everything in creation comes together in Christ?

Instead of rejecting faith or science, let’s learn as much as we can from both.  The only way we will ever achieve the most holistic understanding of existence is to connect the physical and spiritual.  We must learn about the natural world through science and come to terms with God as He has revealed Himself in His Son.

This is an all-important mystery we seek to unravel.  We will never know who we are until we come to terms with from whence we’ve come.  “In the beginning, God…”

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Faith and Science Instead of Faith vs. Science

  1. JB June 11, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

    Unfortunately, this message is not well received in the world at large. I am a Christian and a scientist, and I see the conflict between faith and science quite well in my own life. I have been told to my face that I am not a scientist because I am a Christian. I have been told to downplay my Christian service work in fellowships because it may be viewed unfavorably (and perhaps lost a few because I did not). I have seen people deny science because it conflicts with their view of what the Bible says, never realizing that using what we know from science can actually help us better understand the Bible.

    I honestly hope we as a society can overcome these sorts of reactions. Personally, my scientific knowledge has only strengthened my faith and my faith has given me the peace and freedom to pursue my vocation to the best of my abilities. I look forward to reading these posts and Lepley’s book!

Leave a Reply

